
Okay - so it was not really chaos, but it was not good. When I told someone the story, they said that it sounded like a nightmare. I could see that; not the nightmare that makes you wake up screaming, but the one that you makes you stressed and feel a bit crazy.
My appointment was for 3:15 and I knew I did not want to take a half day at work, so I had the day off. It was great, I checked online to make sure I had all of my documents, found out the amount of money I needed for the visa was $134 and then I went for a walk. After a walk to calm down and get focused, I was off to do some errands. After my errands I decided to head over the the embassy a bit early...2:00.
I followed the directions to a T and wound up at the mall. Since I had so much time to kill, I figured I would walk around a bit, stop by the Apple store and get some more directions. Well, the directions said I was at the embassy. I walked around and then drove around the mall with no luck. I called and they told me they were located right by Ruby Tuesday, I was thrilled and hung up...then I stopped and thought to myself "this mall has a Ruby Tuesday?!" No, it does not. Ruby Tuesday's is across from the back of the mall and the embassy is in a building that is somehow connected to it. I finally found it though and went along my way.
As my heart began beating faster I walked up to the desk in the entrance of the building. They were trying to help a man find where to go when he was told to find a person and not an office. I shuffled through my papers looking for my appointment slip, which I was told I needed or I would not be allowed in. They did not ask for it and sent me up to the fifth floor. I went to open the door and it wouldn't open. A man walked up and had a badge that opened the door and let me in.
It was a small room with windows everywhere. I went up to the desk that had glass between me and the guy behind the counter. He welcomed me in French and I told him I was there for a visa. He told me to wait in the room the the left for someone to assist me as it was 2:50 and nobody will be there until 3. I opened the door and the light turned on. It was extremely small and painted French Blue (you know, like the flag...). I took a seat facing one of the two counters that were in front of me.
A few minutes later a family of five came in. A husband, wife, two sons and daughter. I moved over so I could not see the counters, as to allow the family to sit together. They were whispering to each other, but all speaking English. It seemed as though the wife might have been French or European and the husband was American. The kids were in school uniforms. The oldest son seemed so unhappy. The girl sat on the mothers lap and was just smiling with the mother the whole time. The youngest, had to switch seats because the mother wanted him to sit next to the father. The dad played a "game" with the boy to see how long he could sit without moving. Obviously, the mother had major issues with the son who seemed just a bit more active then the other two children. The oldest son and mother were flicked the daughter's hair and the son's arm hit the wall by accident. The mother said that is what happens when he acts "inappropriately" and he had to sit with his fingers intertwined. It was just a weird mix of everything!
Finally, someone came to the counter and the father went up. He gave him some documents, sat, signed some forms with the mother, and then waited. They then left and I was left alone in the waiting area again. The man behind the glass window called me up and I gave him my documents. I was extremely polite and was trying to listen carefully, as I am not the best with accents. The man looked my documents and asked what they were and when I got them. I told him that I got them March 31st and filled them out (since I thought that I would meeting much earlier). I was then informed that those were all the wrong documents! Apparently, the embassy had moved around March and had new documents on the website since April. Nothing on the website said that new forms were up-loaded and I needed to use those. Heart pounding, I asked if there was anything that I could do. He angrily told me that he would print me a new form and I had to fill it out "quickly, quickly."
A side note about these "forms" they are written in French and need to be filled out in French. I thought, that it would be the same form, with a different heading, you know, new address and all. WRONG! They looked the same, but had different questions and I cannot read French well enough to decipher it "quickly quickly." I made a couple of mistakes and had issues where he whited it out for me and highlighted and whited out and so on.
I was then asked where I would be staying after my three day hotel. I told him that I would be at a farm and he asked me what the address was...I panicked! I still have not heard back from anyone that I am good to go. I looked through my papers and found a couple descriptions of farms. He asked me to write the address down and I tried. I had no idea if I wrote the farm name, address, or what I wrote it was in French for people's sake! He questioned me and I just showed him the paper work. He told me that he needed to keep that and I would need a letter from the farm, on letterhead, saying that I will be staying with them, what I will be doing there, and that I will not be getting paid. At this moment, I just kept repeating the farm "address" in my head as I would have to now contact these people.
After thinking about this though, I do not think that the farm will have letterhead, so I contacted the WWOOF organization. I was also questioned about my insurance, he did not know if it was valid in Europe. I told him that it was specifically meant for that. He asked what would happen if I needed surgery and I was confused, not sure what he wanted as I would be covered. He told me that I had to be covered $36,000 USD and when I told him that I definitely was he told me that I better not be lying because that would hold everything up and I should just tell him if I was not. He said "fine" and that meant...I was to leave.
I have two forms now to get and return to the embassy in order to get my visa approved. I contacted the insurance company and they told me to print a couple of things and if they still are not good enough, to contact them again and they will help. I contacted WWOOF a couple of days ago, but still have not heard back from them. They are usually really good about getting back via email, so I am just...waiting now.
I will be leaving Georgia in 6 days and feel I have so much to do! I will keep you all updated though!
PS - no questions were asked about the prepaid envelope that I had addressed to my parent's house. Dun dun dun....
No comments:
Post a Comment