Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Eygalieres

There is a strike today which means that all public transportation is shut down and even some of the main roads. We decided that I should visit Eygalieres (not to be confused with the nearby Eyguieres)and after lunch we headed there. I was dropped off by a school and headed up, towards the town. Not really sure why, but I saw this tiny little pathway and decided to take it; hoping it was not private property. I wound up at the top of a “mountain” with beautiful views of the city.



There was a clock tower that did a wonderful job of telling time on time.



There were some remains of what I assume was a church.



And there was some little hut. It was super cool and had a nice little place to camp out, although nobody had camped there for years I am sure as it was closed and locked up.



I took many pictures of the view and did what I thought was a pretty good job of using the timer and getting some shots of myself. After one 20 second delay and 10 shots, I turned off my camera. I found another cool spot and my camera would not turn on. I did not remember the battery saying that it was getting low, but what do I know? I packed it away and enjoyed the sun. I laid on a rock over looking the Alps and town and soaked up the sun.

After an hour or two I headed down to the city. I got myself a little pastry and munched away. Then I was going to head to where I was dropped off as there was a park nearby but I saw some men playing Pitanque. I headed over and slowly approached. I sat down on a stone and watched. They were playing in teams of 3 and some guys were okay, one was good and one was bad. The good player, who I named Arnie, sat down when it was not his turn. He asked me if I had balls, or if I knew how to play. I was not sure which he asked so I answered both questions. After he gave me a weird look, I told him I only spoke a little French.

I watched the old men play for about an hour. During this time another man tried to speak with me, but it did not go so well. I was asked if I wanted to play by Arnie, but I declined as I suck and they were playing 6 at a time! Also during this time, Arnie held out his hand and there was a little dog made of wire on it. He said “a dog” and pushed it to me. I said my thank yous and took it. I am not really sure why he had the dog, if he made it, was carrying it in his pocket, found it, or what, but it was amusing. After the next round I thanked the old men for letting me watch and headed out.

No comments:

Post a Comment