There is supposed to be another strike today but as of dinner it was not on for sure. We had soup and then headed off to bed. In the morning Julie was rushing around like crazy. I was trying to make sure that I had all of the information (name of the bus stop I will be dropped off at, which stop to get off at, the name of the town I will go to, which stop it will be on the train, times for the transportation that I wants and backup times as well as costs and time of trip). I saved lots of stuff on my computer and we were off a bit late (what else is new). We got to the area of the bus stop but did not see it. We drove past it and then saw the bus drive by. Julie said not to worry and tailed the bus until the next bus stop, which was three away as nobody was at the previous stops.
I got onto the bus with what appeared to be high school kids. On the bus, all high school looking kids. You know, dress, leaning into their boyfriend/girlfriend, book bags, etc. I looked at my ticket and it said Avignon but not the gare as the final stop. I hoped that I was not being taken to some school. At the next stop, more kids and two adults, who both looked like teachers; I am sure it is just my imagination…We did stop at a couple of high schools but the final stop was the gare in Avignon. I was happy and got off.
Julie asked if I had a map of Avignon and I said yes. It was true, I did, in my bag, at home. I had been to Avignon enough to get the jist of the city. I headed to the train station and bought my ticket from the machine. Apparently the ticket I got was not to the city that I wanted…that is 4km away. No idea about that but I am hoping I will be able to get where I need to be. I checked with the man walking around and it turns out that because of the strike, there are no trains and I will have to take a bus. He showed me where the bus will be and smiled with the fact that I knew “c’est bon.”
I headed into the walled town and bought more minutes for my phone. Patrice works near the town that I am going and may be able to pick me up at the end of the day. Then I got some money from the bank, picked up a postcard for my sister, purchased a baguette, and headed off. I went back to the wall by the theater that had crazy paintings on it and figured I should take some more pictures as I liked the feedback that I had received with my previous pictures. I took out my camera, fully charged battery and all, and turned on my camera. It did not go on, so I pushed it again…nothing. I guess the reason my camera stopped so suddenly the other day is because my camera is broken. Not really sure why it took two days from the point of dropping it for there to be a problem, but none the less, it is a problem. I will have to get the information to get another good camera ASAP.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment