Monday, October 11, 2010

To Sainte Victoire or Not to Sainte Victoire?

We woke up earlier than expected (7) since we went to bed so late (1). Anyway, we were tired but ready to go. We chatted for a while over more delicious breads from the bakery and then headed to see Julie's grandmother.

We walked in the door and she was holding a basket with chocolate telling us to take. It was like Halloween, I tried not to laugh. Her grandmother is SO cute! Teeny tiny but full of life. They spoke for a bit and then grabbed some persimmons for Julie's mom and we headed off. I was guessing that her grandmother was 80, turns out she is 89...basically 89. Insane! She seemed to be doing well though and it was good that Julie got to see her.

It was time to meet Julie's mother. We arrived to a little barking dog (the one Thelma used to have). It was an acceptable dog where I was not scared. We said our hellos and headed inside. They offered some drinks for before lunch (common) but I passed. We had fois gras, nuts and cherry tomatoes to start. After talking for a bit, we all sat down to homemade lasagna! It was very good. Apparently, Julie's mother was going to make me a regional specialty, but it had pork in it, so she went with this instead. It was very good. While we were eating, it began to get very very windy and rain was flying into the windows. We still had hope that it would clear up.

After the lasagna there was salad. I figured I would try it. There were tomatoes and cucumbers in it...but it was made with endive. I do not think I have ever had endive before, despite having seen it many times, I do not like it! I guess since it looks a bit like romaine hearts that it what I was expecting...silly Stacey! Anyways, I was told not to finish it so cucumbers and tomatoes it was!

Next was dessert. There was chocolate cake and raspberry tart. I figured I would go with the raspberry tart. The piece was huge, so no chocolate cake for me. The raspberry tart was AMAZING! So fresh and good I cannot really find any words to describe it other then "yum!"



After lunch we decided to head out as the rain had stopped. It was still cloudy but we could deal with that. We wound up at Sainte Victoire, which is a huge mountain. It was beautiful! When we arrived the winds were out of control, literally pushing us this way and that. We headed into the museum for safety.



The museum was all about donkeys. I mean ALL about it. There were what looked like hundreds of donkeys, some carved from wood, some beaded, some made of plaster. There were signs about the teeth, eyes, and nose of donkeys. It was a bit weird. I asked what the deal was but nobody could really answer me. I found a little case talking about dinosaur eggs and that was it. Weird. Anyway, we walked around and then headed out.



It was not good weather to go to the look out point like Julie's mother had wanted to see, so we decided to head back to Aix. I do not think we wound up in Aix, but we did arrive on Cezanne's Road. There were lots of pictures and beautiful views. This was a great place for hiking and we decided to try one. I found a 30minute one and figured that was the best, since it was getting cold with the wind. We read the information on the trails and in English it said you were prohibited to go when it was very windy. It was not written in French and they said I should pretend I did not see that, I was okay with that. I do not think her mother was though as we wound up turning around. I was okay with turning around...it was not a good day for a hike.

We headed back to Julie's mother's house where Julie had some tea. She has been sniffling up a storm and her throat has begun to hurt. I had a piece of chocolate cake and around 7 we all said our goodbyes.

No comments:

Post a Comment