Saturday, October 9, 2010

Fontvielle

Today is a B E A U tiful day! We woke up early today, which was hard to do as we stayed up late last night, and I enjoyed a leisurely breakfast as Julie just grabbed some juice and the bread with Nutella, that I made for her as she did not have time, for the car ride. At first, I thought she was late the first couple of mornings because she was not used to having me there and eating breakfast and all but now I see, she is just always running late; no big deal, I am now prepared for her morning rush.



We headed into the car and I worried about the weather. It was supposed to be 77/78 today but it rained at night and the sky looked like it was going to rain again. We arrived at Fontvielle’s center and Julie dropped me off. I walked around the market as they were setting up. It was very very small and really nothing interesting so I headed to the streets of the town. I went into the church which had a tiny little chapel in the back. There was a man reading (I think) the bible. I sat there for a while and then headed back to the streets. I came across a bakery and got a baguette. I was starving at this point so it was good. I wound up finishing the whole thing before I made it back to the market, I was hungry.



Along my walk I wound up going where people were going or coming from, I figured they knew were the good stuff was, even if that is not where they were coming from. I wound up finding the spring that gave the town its name.



The place where people used to do laundry. It was a big pool looking thing that has all sorts of algae growing on the bottom, I thought it was gross and that someone needed to clean it, even if nobody uses it any more. I then saw where the water lead to and realized the water was clean and coming up from the ground which was clean but the part that I saw just had algae growing because it never gets to dry out.

Then I headed back to the town center. I really wanted some melon but only one guy was selling them and they were tiny and 2,00 a piece. I ditched that idea and got a small piece of cheese. I decided despite the overdose of bread, I needed a piece in order to eat the cheese. I asked the bread guy who told me that he only sold loaves of it. I said oh, and was surprised as it looked as though it had been cut and was being sold by the piece. He cut me a piece anyways though and said that it was free. I thanked him and headed off to eat my snack and people watch.



After I had had enough I went into a couple of the stores, found an awesome cicata but decided there was no way I could pack it without breaking it, and headed to the tourist office which was now opened. The boy at the desk was helping someone else and told the lady on the phone that I spoke English, so much for my French being flawless. I got a map of the town (it was horrible) and she suggested that I walk along the road outside to find the three moulin’s. I went to the first one, which was supposed to be the last and did not like how they made you pay to go inside and had a little museum that you also had to pay for. It should have been free, but hey I guess they need to make some money. I just sat outside enjoying the cleared up skies and then headed back.

I passed by a park and did some of the “activities” that they had. Then I laid in a round plate that was hanging like a tire swing. I stayed there until I got hot, which just so happened to be when Julie was supposed to be coming. I met up with her and we headed home.

No comments:

Post a Comment