Ann-Francoise took me to the Pont du Gard; Auriane continued to play her computer game and I think Alan was working. The wind was still brewing but not nearly as much as earlier. We arrived in about 15 minutes and Ann went to the front desk. She is very much concerned about getting me English information which is very kind. I just kind of wander around and find out what strikes me but it is nice to get the additional information, even if I do not use it.
The monument had changed its yearly pass and for 5,00 more 5 people can go as much as they want and it includes parking, the museum and a video. We arrived with five minutes until the English video which is pretty good as there are showings every hour from 9:00-18:00 and only two English ones.
The video was ridiculous, an Italian couple making out (from American standards) and exploring their own way. It was interesting though and taught me a bit. We then headed to the Pont du Gard which was beautiful but it was hard for me to connect with it. Perhaps because it was so big or I did not know enough about it but, it was very nice. Ann pointed out where the “beach” was added a few years ago to allow concerts to happen. She said that they used to picnic there often but have not in a couple of years. She then took me to their favorite spot, where you could see that Pont du Gard with all three levels. It is gigantic.
It is so hard for me to understand how people back then (1st century) could move so many heavy, heavy blocks of stone. How they were able to construct such a ginormous thing is just mind boggling to me, even with their levers and pullies. I took many pictures and then we headed towards the gift shops to get a couple of post cards. On the way out Ann asked if I wanted to go into the museum and I said “why not?”
The museum is in the basement of the ticket building and is different from many of the museums that I have been to. It is very modern and beautiful, when you enter it is black except for black light shining on flags with different pictures. The place is almost silent except for the sound of mallets hitting stone and flowing water.
The museum was huge and there was so much to learn. 500 men worked on the aqueduct and (I forget) 85-90% of it is underground. It is the largest bridge from the Romans still standing and it brought water to the city of Nime. Even though Nime has a population six times of it back then, they use the same amount of water. The water helped keep the people healthy as it would flush the dirty water away in the gutters and they had Roman Baths. The aqueduct took water and brought it from Nime on what appears to be a straight line, but it is curved and on a large gradient. As soon as use of the Aqueduct began leaks were found, due to poor craftsmanship. Much of the water that should have reached Nime, was lost. After a few centuries people stopped using the water for themselves and just for their crops and eventually that stopped as well. The aqueduct was altered to allow wagons and animals to pass by and it was used as a road for many years. It is now a national monument.
I loved my visit and was so glad that Ann took me. Tomorrow it is off to Avignon (again).
No comments:
Post a Comment