Last night I was told it was not safe to keep the fan running all night and that we should crack the window instead. I agreed begrudgingly and of course had a horrible night of sleep and was woken up from a not really sleep around 3am with trucks and cars and all of that. I did not get out of bed until 8:30 as I was just hoping for quiet, but did not get it.
I made it to breakfast and met a really really nice guy from Jordan. He is a freelance photographer and basically loves traveling and this lets him do it. I did not understand his name but I really wanted to look at some of his pictures, he has been everywhere. He was telling me that he does a huge circle in order to follow the 3 months in 3 months out of the EU. He will be traveling for about a year this trip but had recently done a five year tour(WOW!).
He had never been to America as the paperwork is too intensive and with the stamps in his passport he was not thinking that it would look to good. Plus they ask all of the places that he has lived in the past three years and he did not have an address and had been everywhere. He is trying to get a Canadian passport (not sure how) and then will try to make it to the USA. I wish that I got to know him more but I needed to heard to the train station.
So I am so sick of this getting to Munich issue but really need to get it solved. I went armed with multiple options and was told that again the options were not Italy's trains and I would have to buy the tickets elsewhere (this guy said online). I had already looked up prices online and they were about 50 euro. I asked about the overnight train and he said it was 9 or 20 euro. I went with the 9 although looking back the 20 would have been better. It was for 3-4 people, you get your own bathroom, and place to change etc etc. The 9 euro you are with 6 people and you are expected to sleep in your day clothes and you share the bathroom with everyone on that train car. I do not feel so safe in the smaller compartments though and have heard bad stories about them so I guess it was wise of me to pick what I did.
I asked for a ticket to Lucca, an easy day trip from Florence. I figured it was less touristy than Sienna and apparently has the best preserved medieval wall around. Now I would like you to take a second and say the name of the city out loud...Lucca. If you were asking for a ticket in Italy would you say it differently? How would it sound then?
I asked for a ticket to Loo-cha. The guy had no idea. I tried again, saying that it was nearby - nothing. He asked me to write it and then said OOOOOOH Loco. I have no idea how they got that but okay. I got my ticket and headed to the big board of trains. I could not find my train and so I asked information. The guy said since it is Saturday the next train is in two hours!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment