Tuesday, August 31, 2010

Cote d’Azur Part I



I headed back to the hostel and checked out my digs. It was small, metal bunk beds and no bathroom in the room, fine with me! I met one of my roommates who was from Brazil and very nice. I changed clothes in the room with the toilet as my room had someone in it and the room with the shower was… well, a closet that they put a shower into. (Don’t get me wrong, it was a nice size shower and the water was an acceptable cool to hot, but once you got out of the shower you had no room to do anything….don’t even think of drying off!) I went back into the room, lathered me up with some spf on my shoulders and neck (not really planning to be out of the water) and was off.

Along the way I stopped off at a kind of department store place and saw a woman stealing. Like no joke, pulled something off of the hanger, had her friends and even 7ish year old daughter around her and stuffed it into her bag! I could not believe it. I felt that I had to say something, so I found a lady and said that the lady by the exit is trying to steal. She looked at me funny so I said in my best French, “she take without pay,” nothing, I go to charades and open my bag, stuff something in it and shut the bag. A side from feeling like a thief (a really dumb thief) I also felt ridiculously stupid. She said “ah oui oui bag” and smiled. I said no and forget it. She said that she would send over the English speaking person. Of course the lady was leaving the store at this time and the alarm went off and everyone left but her who came back into the store to look at something else. I guess she passed off her bag at that point and could leave home free.

The English speaking woman came up and asked what she could help me with. I told her that the lady was stealing but had left. She did not know steal. I said take without pay and she smiled and said yes yes. Then I said okay, thinking I should just take without pay! Nothing good though, so I left.

No comments:

Post a Comment