Yesterday was a pretty quiet day. I spent the day painting the last of the shutters for the house. I am glad that they had this work available as well as the garden. If I had to go to the plot and hack down thorny vines, I do not think I would have liked it as much – although that may have been more the WWOOFing experience.
Around 4 o’clock Christian’s aunt and boyfriend arrived. This meant no English (yay!). For a couple of hours I stayed away from them, to let them talk. It is hard to just be the dumb girl sitting around for no reason. I picked more tomatoes, played with the chickens, looked at the train schedules until I felt I could do no more, and looked up some cherry tomato recipes (dried, roasted, stuffed, etc).
Fanny got home and it was time for dinner. We were having pasta with Christian’s homemade tomato sauce. It was very good, it had chunks of celery and carrots and no tomato paste. I took a medium size portion and ate it up quickly. It seems like the French are not into second helpings (they just take a lot the first time around). Due to my lack of serving skills I sat staring at the remainder of the pasta for a while. Along with the pasta we had bread and potato chips, don’t worry we also had walnuts and cucumbers to give it a bit more substance
After dinner we went for a walk around the village. They are preparing for the annual village celebration and some of the lights have been hung. I will go back tomorrow evening to get some pictures. The village seemed to be a bit more hopping than I had seen, lots of people at the bar and restaurant. I guess when you only have one of each, they get filled up pretty quickly. Again the conversation was in French and I could only make out some words, not really topics, but I enjoyed it thoroughly.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment