I made it to Marseille and decided to buy my train ticket to Aix. Since I did it by myself, without assistance, I did not get my young person discount (my ticket was 7,00 instead of 5,30). I am not sweating it though.
I got off of the metro and immediately smelled the sea. It was a salty, not bay or ocean smell. There were sailboats lined up and huge buildings. I took some pictures and was off to find my room. When I arrived, the room was not ready so I needed to explore. There were dozens of restaurants and I was off to enjoy one. I found one that was a bit more pricy than I wanted, but I could not refuse. There were four guys, who looked Italian, eating spaghetti and ginormous shrimp. I sat next to the mob and ordered the same.
The waiter took my order in broken French/Italian/English, he was the only one working and running around like crazy, I felt bad for him in the heat. When I got my meal I decided it deserved a picture, so after a bite voila. It was delicious and the shrimp tasted like they were cooked in salt water, still salty all over.
I went back to the hostel and my room was still not ready. I went to a bunch of shops and tried to get a phone. I did not have everything I need, so I will try again tomorrow, although I may try to do Skype as a phone and see how that works. I went back a third time and the room was still not clean. I went wandering and found a bank and a beautiful fountain. After being approached by the same homeless guy twice I left.
Connections that will sound random to you: For such a city, there are very few benches and places to sit. There are a large number of cops and people walking dogs with leashes…well the dogs have leashes but are dragging them. I think that European (maybe just French for now) guys are always hitting on girls because they don’t care if they are knocked down. I think in the US guys want to hit on girls more often and say stuff under their breath and to their friends, but the rejection is just too much.
No comments:
Post a Comment